What kind of diet did you say? Liquid Diet

Well, I have really gone and done it this time.  I passed out on Monday and fell and broke my jaw and four front teeth.  On Friday, I have to go to the hospital and have my mouth wired shut.  I will stay that way for 6 weeks.  During that time I can only eat liquids.  That’s right, no crunchy stuff, no chewy bread, no scallion pickles, and no salads.  Ok, now let’s focus on what I can have.  Those soup recipes up in the recipe section actually blend up very nicely.  I can start with that.  I need lots of liquids, fruit juices and water and such.  I’ll need lots of calcium to help with healing.  Lots of protein they say also.  So, my blog will consist of lots of information about liquid diets for the next few weeks.

I made avocado ice cream yesterday.  It was amazingly delicious.  It is very simple and I can let it melt a little and squish it in.  Here’s the recipe, adapted somewhat from Eating Well magazine:

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 3/4 cup sugar

Blend all ingredients together till very smooth.  Put blender container in fridge for at least 1 hour to cool, can leave as long as 8 hours.  Pour into ice cream freezer and follow manufacturers directions.

Believe me, this is good even if you can chew.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Rebecca Watts on March 20, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Carol! — so THAT’s why the wired shut jaw. I only saw the reference on FB to the passing out and the wiring shut and I couldn’t imagine the cause. Broken jaw, missing teeth… now that makes sense. OUCH!!! Heal quickly, my dear. Miss you.
    Rebecca

    Reply

Leave a Reply

