Settling in to the new routine.

Eating everything through a straw is starting to feel normal.  I don’t want that to last for long but I guess it’s better than fighting with it.  I have some kind of fruit juice and smoothies of various kinds for breakfast, but mostly my standard banana peanut butter.  I made it once with canned pears instead of bananas and that was good also.

I try to have at least two kinds of soup for each meal just to have some variety.  I’ve got a stack of soup recipes that we are going through.  I keep at least two kinds made at all times.  I’ve only had  malts from the ice cream shop twice, but mostly that was subterfuge to get the big fat straws, which make drinking soup a lot easier.  The thin everyday straws just don’t cut it except for water and juice.  I am going to make myself a childhood favorite for a snack this afternoon or this evening for dessert.  That is a Purple Cow.  It is too easy and too good.  Blend together 1 cup ice cream and 1/2 cup grape juice.  Pour in a glass and drink with a straw.  If you don’t have to drink with a straw, I prefer it lumpy and just stirred together in the glass.  It’s great and you can’t have too much of that purple juice.

I’ve come up with some fairly interesting soups to keep myself hydrated and fed.  The first I want to mention is split pea soup.  I had already been making it just because I was trying to incorporate at least one kind of dry legume into each weeks rotation.  It gets some good protein into your diet.  It is especially good and only needs a little extra chicken broth for it to blend up perfectly.

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic chopped
  • 1 cup celery chopped
  • 1 carrot chopped
  • 1 chipotle pepper chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup of dry green split peas
  • 4 cups of chicken broth

Saute the seasonings in the olive oil.  Add the peas and chicken broth and stir well.  Bring up to a boil and then down to simmer for about 45 minutes to an hour.  The peas should be totally mush.  If you are not drinking through a straw, ladle it up and squeeze a little lemon juice on top along with a dollop of really good olive oil.  You can add that too if you are drinking, but then put a cup of it or a little more through the blender along with about 1/4 cup of chicken broth.  It should slurp up very well.

Split Pea in the jar, waiting to be blended. It makes about 2 quarts. This is all that is left.

Leave a Reply

