What is Spring without Asparagus?

The Asparagus soup simmering along. It is very delicious.

This is another recipe from good old Gina.  I have modified it just a little to get some more calcium and protein into it.  My version goes like this:
  • 2 bunches of Asparagus, tough ends removed and chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 1 Vidalia onion chopped
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 container Fage greek yogurt, plain
  • salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in large saucepan.  Saute onions and asparagus, just until onions become translucent.  Add chicken broth and salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat to simmer for 45 minutes until asparagus is very tender.  You could probably go only 30 minutes if you don’t have to drink through a straw.  At this point.  I jar it up in 2 quart jars and put it in the fridge.   It makes 4 servings that are quite large = 2 cups each.  When you get ready to serve it, blend each serving with 1/4 container of yogurt.  You can reheat on the stove after blending or in the microwave.  If you are not getting all your sustenance from liquids, you might want to just have a cup or a cup and a half.  But it is good enough to eat the big serving.

Unfortunately, these asparagus came from the grocery store, but I am watching every day to see when mine come up.  I hope that it will be soon.

I went back to the oral surgeon today to check on how things are going.  She said they looked good.  I had been working hard to keep them clean and she was happy about that.  But she noticed that I was moving my jaw a little more than I should and that the bite did not match up on each side.  So she tightened me up.  That wasn’t too bad.  I was afraid that it might interfere with my thick soups, but everything seems to be working fine.  I had some of this asparagus soup when I got home from work this evening.  It was delicious.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kathy on April 2, 2010 at 4:17 am

    MAKE SURE YOUR JAW STAYS LINED UP!!!!! i had tmj since high school, till recently, when crowns were put on and the jaw just clicked when the last one was put on. KEEP it that way!!!! Love you! Saw you online a few minutes ago, but missed you bc I was on phone. We are supposed to be going to Mansura/Marksville for Chris’s family reunion, but cayleigh is sick . I thought she was better today, (took her to work), but she just threw up again. Too much food (although not that much) on a bad tummy. Yogurt all around! Poor thing, she’s not happy, really wants to see all her cousins (there are like 25plus under the age of 13); so, maybe we will make it saturday night for easter sunday.

    love you! glad to see that your energy level has not flagged, you are still cooking and in the yard! Love to see that!

    you know, my chickens, are spoiled!! Maybe that could be a conversation one day! Chris went and got 14 baby chickens a few weeks ago……..that;s a lot of eggs. I ‘m actually thinking that he might have to learn to “process” them. I don’t think I could do it. probably, so. but, …not ready for that.

    we will be out of tow this weekend, maybe, in mansura, ; if not, you will see me online:) otherwise, I will talk to you next week.

    Reply

  2. Posted by kathy on April 2, 2010 at 4:20 am

    oh yes, I actually have asparagus coming up! not much. I think I planted like 6 crowns, only 3 have sprouts coming up. They say it take s a few years to get established. Cayleigh & I love asparagus, so I think that this fall I might have to establish a real asparagus “bed” for the future!

    Reply

    • Posted by duckandjunebug on April 2, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Hey Kathy,
      I have remade my asparagus. I moved it to another spot and have added more crowns. I should have a really large space by the time I get done planting this fall. I have two rows now with a row of garlic in between. When the garlic comes out this summer, I will plant another row of asparagus there. I have had it, but there was never enough at the same time to really do anything with.

      Hope Cayleigh gets to feeling better soon. Give her a kiss for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

