The first time I’ve had soup with cheese

I was thinking I would do a mashed potato soup with cheddar cheese that a friend had sent me.  But Pat said that he had read somewhere that cheese was a no-no for wired shut people.  It was too sticky and made a mess on the wires.  I had delayed doing it, but could not resist this recipe with stilton cheese.  I am happy to report that after you run it through the blender the cheese is apparently in such tiny pieces that it is not a problem.  At least for blue cheese.  I’ll try that cheddar cheese thing soon.  I’ll get back to making pictures, also, but pureed soup is not that interesting to photograph.  They just all kind of look the same.  Here’s the recipe:

Cream of Cauliflower and Stilton Soup

  • 1 1 1/2 pound head of cauliflower, chopped
  • 3 Tablespoons of butter
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 3/4 cup celery chopped
  • 1 leek, white and pale green parts only, chopped
  • 3 Tablespoons flour
  • 3 cups canned vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 1/2 ounces Stilton cheese or any good blue cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and ground white pepper to taste

Melt butter in 3 qt or larger saucepan.  Saute vegetables in butter till onion is translucent.  Add flour and cook stirring for about 5 minutes.  Stir in broth and milk.  Bring to a boil and turn down to simmer gently for 30 to 45 minutes.  Stir in blue cheese and then blend in batches or use immersion blender, til smooth.  Season to taste with white pepper and salt.

This is amazingly delicious.  Pat says it would make a nice sauce for steak or other vegetables, roasted.  It would.  I’m amazed and impressed.  Speaking of Pat, I’m amazed and impressed with him also, but not surprised.  He has been so wonderful through all of this.  Going to get me whatever I wanted at first when I was confused, frightened, and bewildered by the whole thing.  He has taken good care of me and I appreciate it.  Having a good partner has been one thing that the other broken jaw bloggers have mentioned as being important, and it is true.  Now that I’m all competent, I can act like I can do it all on my own, but at first it was pretty scary and I wasn’t too sure of anything.  It is great to have his love and support.

Leave a Reply

